A Bad Case of the “But Lord”s– Pt 2. Thorn in the flesn


We all have “thorn” days, it is all about how you handle them.  You can press on and thank God that at least you have this day, at least your child is here in the land of the living, at least you are here in the land of the living, at least you have this opportunity to homeschool them, at least you know that HE is there with you each step of the way, at least, at least, at least.   Or, you can do what I sometimes fall into the rut of doing……I call it the “But Lords”… “BUT LORD!!! you called me to this”, ” BUT LORD, you said you’d be with me every step of the way, so why aren’t you rescuing me yet?”,  ”But Lord, if you want me to homeschool why is it so HARD?”, “But Lord, I’ve done everything I can possibly do and this kid STILL CANNOT________________ (fill in your blank)”,  ”But Lord, but Lord, but Lord”…….and then ONE day….he asked me why I was changing his NAME to  ”BUT LORD” instead of “Lord God”, “El Shaddai”, “Jehovah Nissi”, “Jehovah Jireh”, “Jehovah Rapha”, “Jehovah Shalom”, “Ancient of Days”, “Jehovah Shammah”, “Jehovah Tsidkenu”, “Jehovah Mekkodiskem”, “Elohim”,  ”Jehovah Saboath”,  ”Jehovah Raah”, ” Adonai”, “El Elyon”,  ” El Olam”…….you get the idea.   He pretty much TOLD ME….that in ALL of the names he used to reveal himself, he NEVER ONCE called his name “BUT LORD”.

 

I laughed, out loud, because God was right…..he never once has revealed himself as the “But Lord”…..he’s shown himself in all of those OTHER ways….by all of those OTHER names….and when you call him by his name, he knows who it is you’re speaking to.  I mean…of course he knows you’re speaking to him when you call him “But Lord”…..but I’m sure that isn’t his favorite “nickname”…..I’d say he much prefers something like  “Ay…El Shaddai…you da BOMB yo!”  (apologies for that seeming irreverent)…..and I know in my heart of hearts, he MUCH prefers  “Abba Father”……but this IS a relationship…and HE does love us, and even if in our own little dialect we are speaking to him BY HIS NAME, he does probably acknowledge us more readily than he does when we call him the “But Lord”

 

Imagine this if you will;

 

Your name is…..Bob.

 

I am speaking to you…..and so are a few other people….but you hear us all….and we’re in kind of a crowd.

 

but I am calling you FRED….not Bob.

 

“Hey Fred, I need a favor over here, could ya help me out?”

 

you look at me…..”is she talking to me?” you think

 

“FRED…YO…OVER HERE….I SAID I NEED SOME HELP DUDE, CAN YA LEND A HAND?”

 

you cock your head, a furrow between your brow….you’re confused….I’m LOOKING directly at you….words are coming out of my mouth….directly towards you….but I’m not using your name, and so you just kinda….sit there….in stunned silence…..”she knows my name…why is she calling me Fred” you think…..

 

Suddenly….I say to you  ” Oh man, BOB….I really need you, you’re the ONLY one who can help me.  Could you please come down here and just help me out, please…I love ya man…I need your help…and I know you’re the ONLY one who can give it”

 

NOW you know I’m serious……I’m speaking DIRECTLY to you….I’m speaking your language….I’m showing you the RESPECT of calling you by your RIGHTFUL NAME…..and so you come…and you help..and the job is done.

 

 

to be continued………..AFTER BASEBALL 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under homeschool, Homeschooler, Homeschooling

What do you think?

