His Grace…..It Is Sufficient Pt.3


We went this morning for “the appointment” to “discuss” my husband’s thyroid ultrasound.  They informed us that he has a solitary solid mass 18mm in size  as well as a goiter.  Typically someone with a “nodular” thyroid, will have more than one, so this is cause for concern.  Therefore, a biopsy has been ordered and the waiting game has begun.

Thorns…Grace…Being thankful for them both.

I find myself in a slight state of shock at this news, I truly expected a simple explanation such as a cyst or a simple goiter.   I suppose although in the back of my mind I “feared” that it would be more significant, I didn’t really believe it would be.  My husband seems fine, unaffected even.  He said to me in response to my fear and worry :

“Have you ever seen a bridge that appeared rickety, the boards are loose, the bridge looks unsafe?  Well, this is a bridge and it “appears” to be rickety, unsafe, and frightening to you, but what you failed to notice; the beams beneath that bridge are as solid as ever, they are more than adequate to bear you across it.  You may have to balance for a while….the fear of heights will make you tremble, but you needn’t worry because your support is rock solid and you’ll make it across.  Everything is fine, our foundation is rock solid.  We have fought many battles in preparation for the big ones; when you’ve had as much “practice” as we have, you simply have faith that the practice has taught you well how to fight”

His grace is sufficient….it’s as simple as that.  I know (and if you read my list…YOU know) that I’ve crossed many “rickety bridges”, and this is just another one along the path.  I’m concerned, but HIS GRACE is sufficient.  Regardless of the outcome of the biopsies, I’m going to walk on knowing that the “beams” are built specifically to bear the weight of the burden.   God isn’t writing this story as we go, he already has the outcome prepared and no matter what it is, it will be to his glory.  I find today, that instead of a pity party, anger, fear, or disgust…….I feel as if I am anchored firmly and instead of suffering from the “Martha’s”, I’m gonna sing like Paul.

So I’m sitting here at my piano…..playing this song

Standing on the promises of Christ my King,

Through eternal ages let his praises ring;

Glory in the highest I will shout and sing,  Standing on the promises of God.

Standing on the promises of God, Standing on the promises of God my savior

Standing, Standing,

I’m standing on the promises of God.

Standing on the promises I cannot fall,

Listning every moment to the spirit’s call.

Resting in my Savior as my all in all,

Standing on the promises of God

and next…..I think I will just  play and sing  Leaning On The Everlasting Arms 🙂  and  “The Battle’s Not Mine Cried Little David”

I refuse to be shaken……I refuse to complain…..No matter the outcome;  God’s Got This.

2 Comments

Filed under homeschool, Homeschooler, Homeschooling

2 responses to “His Grace…..It Is Sufficient Pt.3

  1. I’m praying for your family.

What do you think?

