Homeschooling…..Who told you it would be easy? (Part 1)


I believe it is a generally accepted idea that when God calls you to homeschool, and therefore equips you for the task, one begins to believe that this task will be an easy one (since after all it is a calling). Not so I tell you! It is a journey of faith! Just as when God called Abram to depart from his kinsmen and travel blindly to a land God would show him, the homeschool journey is much the same. God has called you to a journey on which although there are others to keep you company, no other person’s will be exactly by the same route.

*Genesis 12: 1

Now the Lord had said unto Abram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, unto a land that I will shew thee

If you’ve spent any time at all studying Abram/Abraham you know his story, he leaves as God told him but….he doesn’t leave his kinsmen, he takes along his nephew Lot. This was his first mistake, he departed on the journey but he continued to hold on to the past, the things God directed him to let go of. Maybe you’ve had a similar experience? I have, I began homeschooling but was unwilling to forfeit my ideas of what ‘school’ should look like in favor of what God would direct our school to look like. In a roundabout way, I said “Okay God, I’ll go to the place you’re sending me but I’m using MY map instead of yours”. Just like Abram, I suffered consequences because I refused to let go of my own interpretation of what God really meant when he told me to forsake all of the ideas and dreams I had about what I wanted my homeschool to be (think Harvard by 8). It’s been a long journey thus far and I am only just beginning (just 4 years in) but most of my mileage has been caused by my own unwilling fleshy tendencies.

*I will elaborate on these “tendencies” and other portions of my journey thus far in the posts to come 😀 until then, be blessed!

3 Comments

Filed under Homeschooler

3 responses to “Homeschooling…..Who told you it would be easy? (Part 1)

  1. I look forward to reading more! Thanks!

  2. You wrote this over a year ago but I came across it today, right on time. (:

What do you think?

