A Quick Bite Before Bed…….


I find that I sleep better when I read just before bed, so I take this time for my “daily bread” bible reading.  There are some verses that have been on my mind lately I wanted to share with you all…if there IS in fact a you all who actually do read my blog that is LOL.

 

Titus 2:1-8

Your job is to speak out on the things that make for solid doctrine. Guide older men into lives of temperance, dignity, and wisdom, into healthy faith, love, and endurance. Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior. Also, guide the young men to live disciplined lives.

 7-8But mostly, show them all this by doing it yourself, incorruptible in your teaching, your words solid and sane. Then anyone who is dead set against us, when he finds nothing weird or misguided, might eventually come around.

 

Now…ask yourself this….WHERE are those who ought to be teaching the younger women to love their husbands/children and to be pure in heart etc?  WHERE are those who should be teaching the younger men how to be the men God has called them to be?  Where????  I find myself wondering because I see a set of adults between the ages of 30 and 50 who honestly don’t seem to have these things down in practice themselves so how in the world are they going to teach the ones following them down this path we call life?  

 

I’m turning 30 in January, in my book that makes me “officially adult”….therefore I commit to BE THE CHANGE.  I’ve never been a partyer…never been wild…I’ve been a Christian for a good while but have always taken the sit still, be quiet, and turn my eyes away approach to these younger girls and girls my own age who act just plain crazy…but no more…not I.  I will BE the change…..I’ll call it out of the ones behind me by living it OUT LOUD in front of them and calling them out to be BETTER wives/mothers/friends….I’m committed…..and it starts at home…with my own daughter.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Homeschooler

2 responses to “A Quick Bite Before Bed…….

  1. I love the idea of mentoring! I have become a mentor to a young college girl and I have 2-3 ladies in my church who I consider to be my mentors in different areas of life (homeschooling, family, marriage). Mentoring is definitely something worth seeking, and it starts with one who is willing to be mentored or to mentor. I love these verses in Titus. I am blessed to be a part of a church where people are willing to practice these verses.

    • I think its wonderful you’re part of a church which does this 🙂 I’d like to see mentoring start with younger kids (5 or 6 years and up) because if we wait until theyre teens….by then they “know it all” and we are all stupid so it’s too late!!! I’ve been trying to find a way to get a Little Keepers Club and Little Contenders Club started in our area…..nobody seems really interested or they talk it up and then no follow through 😦 Sooooooo I’m just gonna keep on keeping on and doing what I can where I can until the time comes for the seed that has been planted to come to fruit.

What do you think?

