Life As An Island


Tonight, I feel like an island.  I live in a very rural area with very few homeschoolers, and pardon me for saying so but most in this area are that “weird unsocialized ” kind of homeschooler that you read about in the newspaper.  I know, I know, it sounds like a bit of a stretch….but it isn’t.  It seems to me that here, in this area, homeschoolers more or less ignore one another.  There is no camaraderie (not really…not even in the hs groups) , no kindred spirits to share this journey with, and sometimes I just feel like an island.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Homeschooler

2 responses to “Life As An Island

  1. This made me laugh! I know exactly the type you’re talking about too. On the HS groups though, I’ve found as we’ve traveled around that either we’ve not fit into their small, little, stringent mold. They wanted WAY more out of me than I could give or they just didn’t have options for boys. (Tea parties and craft days that didn’t include major messes?) We’ve learned to become an island also unfortunately.

    I hope you find your bridge soon. 🙂

    • I’m doubting it:/ things aren’t looking very hopeful and I don’t plant to cross over to the dark side of that stereotypical homeschooler who hides from society……I am a rebel and possibly slightly hippy I did breast feed them each for 2 years but I of course don’t smoke weed or live in a commune or anything hahaha what I’m saying is….I’m not Michele Duggar I wear britches and I LOVE me some makeup, and I like my hair big and highlighted and my clothes kinda fashionable and probably I’m a little more consumeristic (well ok definitely) than she is lol…..hey I never said I was perfect did I? :p

What do you think?

