being MADE perfect


Okay so I guess you already know I’m not perfect, and if you didn’t then just read last nights post and honey you’ll know it’s true. The thing is someone pricked my ears up tonight with a comment about not being perfect and it started me on a path of thinking.

I’m not perfect, but I am being MADE perfect

That isn’t any new revelation I’m certain. I just started to consider though, being MADE perfect, this is sometimes kind of painful. I think my husband would tell you I’m not the kind of person who enjoys being MADE to do anything, I would much rather choose to do the things I WANT to do or ENJOY doing. I like being my own boss. There’s this thing though, when you become a follower of Christ everyday you must wake up and decide to be submissive.

Submissive, now that’s a word that you never hear used in a description of me! Loads of people would say I’m softhearted, nice, kind, loving, generous, STUBBORN, and sometimes you’d get the stray comment of patient but that comment would come from people who don’t know me at all and assume that I am because I homeschool. I’m certain though that nobody would ever accuse me of being submissive. So I suppose that’s just the proof in the pudding that I am absolutely imperfect, it would seem. That isn’t necessarily the case though, you see all the “nice,generous,loving, kind” things are rooted in something God has taught or convicted me to do. Even the stubbornness…..I know, it doesn’t sound very Godly, but quite often that stubbornness is refusal to cave in to the wrongdoings, and the willingness to stand up for what is right and never to back down.

Sometimes I enjoy doing all the things I do, other times they’re a thorn in my side. Homeschool for instance, that wasn’t MY idea believe me…I’m selfish enough to admit I don’t always LIKE to homeschool. In fact there are ALOT of days that I think to myself “dear GOD why did I ever submit to this” but then I think back to all those Jonah days I ran from that calling. That’s when I know that GOD is stubborn too. I know how blasphemous that sounds…..but God TRULY is unrelenting when he calls you to a thing. My goodness just look at Jonah! Jesus! Paul! David! I mean just LOADS of people throughout history who were called to do things, HARD things!! God called people to things that got them KILLED (some days I think homeschooling might kill me, but of course it won’t). Such is the process of being MADE perfect thankfully though, each new day his mercies are renewed so that we may endure.

22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.

Stay Encouraged!

Leave a comment

Filed under homeschool, Homeschooler, Homeschooling

What do you think?

