What is it about women??


Romans Ch 1 verses 30-32
30 Backbiters, haters of God, despiteful, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents, 31 Without understanding, covenantbreakers, without natural affection, implacable, unmerciful: 32 Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death, not only do the same, but have pleasure in them that do them.

Guys listen, I’m under no illusion that I’m perfect. I have done loads of not nice things in my lifetime, I could list several but honestly….God has forgiven and forgotten, so why would I need to recount them here? I’m not saying I’ve never been guilty of gossip, I’m sure as a teenager I probably did help perpetuate some…..but the thing is as I’ve grown up (I’m 30) I’ve grown in wisdom as well and as I have God has taken away from me the will to gossip. In my lifetime God has allowed me to be the victim of gossip many times, and through that I have been refined in many areas. So, while I can’t stand a gossip….I have used their hurtfulness to my advantage,

What can you possibly learn from a gossip? A backbiter? An unmerciful friend? A implacable friend?

Quite a bit actually…..

I learned to conduct myself in a manner so that when someone slanders me, nobody believes it.

I learned to guard myself against even the slightest appearance of impropriety.

I learned that not everyone who claims to be Christian bears the fruit that proves it.

I learned that women, more than men, are bent towards backbiting.

I learned that if someone consistently is backbiting and gossiping to you, then as soon as you’ve passed on by them they’re backbiting and gossiping about you.

I learned that a friend who is unmerciful towards others, will be unmerciful towards you as well.

I learned that you shouldn’t bother to attempt to placate the implacable friend, the issue is very rarely what you aren’t doing and more likely what they are lacking.

I have a question though, for you my readers…..

What’s your take ??? What do you think makes women more bent towards this than men? What is your experience with these issues?

20131124-215320.jpg

4 Comments

Filed under homeschool, Homeschooler, Homeschooling

4 responses to “What is it about women??

  1. My first impulse is to say that the difference is that women use words and men use force. Think Brutus and Caesar. Ecclesiastes 7:28 would seem to agree with you– Solomon can’t find one righteous woman in a thousand, although he finds 1 righteous man. This is a great post… a real thinker and convicting. Thanks.

  2. Women tend to be emotional and men physical/logical. We want to talk things over and ask how people “feel”. Men take action and get things done; they often don’t worry about how people “feel”, but what is right and wrong.

    Both have their ups and downs; it is a matter of how you use them. We need to remember emotions can be deceiving; we need to either take action or logically remember we are not in control. Men need to remember that emotions are a good thing and sometimes we need to not just find an answer, but listen as well.

    I think back-biting is really a symptom that something is wrong WITH US. By tearing someone else down, we are making ourselves look good and/or justifying some portion of our lives we fear might be judged. It really all stems from self-righteousness. We are looking to our actions to justify who we are, instead of realizing it is by God’s grace we are sustained.

    Great post! A good reminder for all of us!

What do you think?

